I have been thinking for a while now that my website is a little slow to update and tricky to use and that what I should really do is start a blog which is easy to update.

Thanks to fellow author, Catherine Bruton, I have the perfect excuse to start today! Catherine has asked me to join in on a blog tour called ‘My Writing Process’ which, rather like a round robin letter, links together many writers. We have all been asked to answer the same four questions, so I have obliged by doing so below.

If you would like to read Catherine’s answers, they can be found at www.catherinebruton.com

Here we go then!
1)     What am I working on?

THIS!

Summer's Shadow

I am working on two books at the moment, and this one, Summer’s Shadow, is at the final stage before going to print. It will be published on 3rd July so I am at the proof stage right now. This means I am assiduously checking through the entire book for any outstanding errors. This is a job that can go on for ever, as there is always something I would like to change, but time is not on my side, so the only changes I am allowed to make are absolutely necessary ones, i.e. correcting spelling or punctuation or any outstanding inconsistencies. This is my first book for young teens, so I am very excited about it. It is set in Cornwall, a part of the world I love very much, and centres on a young girl, Summer, who has recently lost her mother and been forced to go and live with relatives she does not know. She is lost and alone and very frightened, especially as she is sure she is seeing ghosts. Then one day she meets Zach, and suddenly life looks a whole lot brighter.

I am also working on a new young fiction title called The Great Kitten Cake-Off, which is due for publication in August this year. I am still very much at the planning and writing stage. Sometimes this is fun, sometimes it is not!

2)     How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Summer’s Shadow is different, I think, because it tackles big issues such as grief, identity, hate and love without going into the sort of detail which might be inappropriate for a young teen. It allows the reader to think about adult themes without dragging her into an adult world for which she is not yet ready.

The young fiction I write stands out for its humour, which can at times be irreverent. I think my poor editor is constantly trying to rein me in . . . The animals I write about are not cutesy, cuddly creatures. They are naughty, messy, and always getting into trouble, often dragging their owners down with them. The kitten in The Great Kitten Cake-Off is no exception to this!

3)     Why do I write what I do?

I write the sort of books which I like to read. When I write comedy, I hope I can make my readers laugh and have as much fun reading the stories as I have had writing them. When I write more serious books, such as Summer’s Shadow (and I hope there will be more in this vein!) I seek to move the reader in the way I enjoy being moved. I also like to connect with characters when I read, to think, ‘Yes! This is how I feel too!’ I hope that my writing will inspire my readers to feel the same about the characters I create.

4)     How does your writing process work?

I am not sure I have much of a process! I have tried planning and plotting and being organised and it does not work for me. I am a ‘splurger’. I have to get my ideas down as they come and write my way into a story. Usually once I have sussed out the voice of the main character, I am off! I then go through a horrible phase where nothing seems to be going in the right direction. I find myself printing everything out and laying it all over the floor in an attempt to make some kind of visual sense of the plot. Once I have achieved that, I am off again, writing non-stop until I have got it as good as I can . . . It does not get easier, even after 27 books.

If you would like to see more about my books, please do take a look at my website http://www.annawilson.co.uk where you will find photos, covers, a little background on my stories and some lovely letters sent to me by readers. I am going to try to use this blog from now on to keep readers more up to date on what I am doing on a regular basis! So thanks, Catherine, for giving me the push I needed to get started!

